Fragrance Review: Fleur du Male-Death By Orange Blossom Overdose

Fleur du MaleOne spritz of Fleur du Male can either send you sniffing your wrists insanely or reeling to the nearest sink to scrub it off in the most speed efficient manner. This was my experience, with this heavy hitter of a fragrance. The verdict on this one is quite divisive. Many people hate and love this scent, so there is no clear consensus. When I first smelled Fleur du Male at a mall perfume shop near me, it revolted me. It was so acrid and obnoxious and literally stung the insides of my nose. The screeching, loud orange blossom assaulted my nose with such a vengeance, and traumatized me so much that I avoided all things with the strange smelling note from then on. Fleur du Male had a resemblance of bathroom cleanser and light metallic vibe that rubbed me the wrong way. I gladly walked out of the store, without a bottle in hand.

Year introduced: 2007
Nose: Francois Kurkdjian
House: Jean Paul Gaultier
Category: Aromatic fougere

Fast forward 2 years. I decided to blind buy this (don’t ask me why) given my previous terrible experience with the scent, I decided to give it another chance. As I know tastes can change over the years and you can come to appreciate notes that you disliked. So it is worthwhile to revisit scents you once dismissed at face value.

Upon first application, you get a blast of orange blossom, and it is quite the dose. Quantities this large should be considered lethal. So it is not for the faint of heart, and may repulse some given how strong it is. Some may even feel that this smell isn’t for a male fragrance at all and consider Fleur du Male a female perfume. I get from they are coming from, but to get the full effect, you must wait for the drydown. The drydown is where this fragrance truly shines and lets the world know it full glory .

After it dries down, I detect some green herbal element that must be the petit grain, along with some coumarin, which has a coconut and haylike sweetness that is quite enjoyable. And it is this ‘under the radar sweetness’ is what transforms the loud orange blossom into honeyed indolic flowers that is delectable on the skin.

This scent has great longevity and projection, averaging about 14 hours on the skin. Women can rock this scent as well. If you are an orange blossom aficionado, Fleur du Male is definitely worth a try. I assure you, you won’t die from an overdose of orange blossom, sometimes it is just what we need.

Sadly, Fleur du Male has been discontinued, but can be found at numerous online retailers such as Fragrancenet and Beautyencounter for a great price.Fleur du Male comes in two concentrations eau de toilette and eau de cologne.
Fleur du Male eau de toilette

Projection:3-4 hours
Longevity: 12-18 hours
Pros: excellent longevity,
Cons: very strong floral top notes

Fragrance obtained from: My own collection

Note:I was not compensated in any form for this review. My views and opinions are my own.

About dkchocoman

Just a regular guy that loves fragrances
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fragrance Review: Fleur du Male-Death By Orange Blossom Overdose

  1. Dear Chocoman
    I have never really been a fan of Le Male and its various (numerous) flankers, but orange blossom is a very favourite note and unlike many, many others I find petitgrain pretty rather than astringent.
    So perhaps this porcelain torso is the one for me, if one comes wandering my way I will be sure to give it a try.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • dkchocoman says:

      I’m sure you will love this one Dandy. The overdose of orange blossom that Kurkdjian uses in this composition caught me off guard the first time around. But little did I know how truely ingenious it was. Now I love it and I can’t get enough. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Dear Chocoman
        ‘Tis my pleasure.
        Being something of an orange blossom buff I can’t wait to try, and will have me eagle eyes open for it.
        Keep writing!
        Yours ever
        The Perfumed Dandy

  2. Hiya guys,
    I love all the JPGs and this one is a special fave, thanks for reminding me. I will spritz it tomorrow.
    Portia xx

  3. Jordan River says:

    Too much but your further thoughts have me curious in terms of understanding Kurkdjian’s work.

  4. cologneboutique says:

    I instantly recognize this bottle, the fragrance that made Mr Kurkdjian aka olfactory genius truly famous! Not that he wasn’t before, but this perfume was an instant success!

    • dkchocoman says:

      This is his most under rated gem. Most people don’t know about this one. All his compositions are brilliant even though this one isn’t my favorite, but you have to recognize his expertise at composing beautiful well crafted perfumes.

Leave a Reply

