Spice 31? Cedar 31? No, Le Labo Rose 31.

I wish I was able to like this fragrance, unfortunately, I just can’t do it. Rosé 31 is one of those fragrances I just don’t get. I’m so happy some people get it because I’m still searching for the rosé in the midst of all the spices, woods and musky elements. I’m an optimist and I haven’t given up hope just yet. I will figure this fragrance out before hell freezes over. Believe that.

Dear Scent Diary,

Dear Scent Diary,

When I was in New York last summer, I happened to stumble into the Le Labo boutique in Nolita, unplanned. What. Stop looking at me that way. Fine, I stalked the place and made a deliberate trip. Sheesh. Anyway, I hadn’t had a chance to sample any of their fragrances beforehand, but I’d heard/read/watched quite a bit about Rose 31 and was eager to try it.

le_labo

The store has an a beautiful ‘modern apothecary’ aesthetic which appealed to me right away. All the scents are lined up on tables to your left as you walk in, and divided up between ‘femme’, ‘unisex’ and ‘homme’. Rose 31 resides on the ‘unisex’ table, if I remember correctly. As a ‘femme’ who most of the time prefers ‘unisex’ and has been known on occasion to sport an ‘homme’ or two, I was appropriately intrigued.

46801On first spritz, I was slightly…

View original post 280 more words

About dkchocoman

Just a regular guy that loves fragrances
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spice 31? Cedar 31? No, Le Labo Rose 31.

  1. lorraine says:

    I’ve now heard a few people say that they barely pick up the rose, if at all in this scent. That isn’t my experience, but if that’s true, I can see why you wouldn’t get it. Without the rose, it would suck! Thanks for re-blogging. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    I definitely get the rose, and I’m not a great rose lover. It’s dark and dirty as well as floral, and I admire the creativity of that and how well it’s balanced. I couldn’t wear it every day or anything, but I’m glad I own it. Hope it will grow on you.

    • dkchocoman says:

      I have another decant of Rose 31 and I must say it is growing on me. No rose yet however, but it is a fantastic fragrance with its musky, woody and spicy goodness.

  3. scent-seeker says:

    I enjoyed reading what you thought about Rose 31 and was curious on what fragrance you get, or you personally love?

Leave a Reply

