Fragrance Review: Caron Pour Un Homme – Short Lived Lavender

Caron Pour Un Homme french advertisement

Caron Pour Un Homme french advertisement


If you are searching for a fragrance that showcases lavender and vanilla in it’s most glorious form, look no further, Caron Pour Un Homme is the one you’re looking for. Introduced in 1934, by Caron Paris, it is a beautiful blend of the most natural smelling lavender and vanilla in the world of fragrance today. But don’t let the name fool you, it isn’t exclusively a men’s fragrance. Women can wear this one as well.

Classified as an aromatic fragrance,Caron Pour Un Homme was composed by perfumer Ernest Daltroff. The Caron Paris website lists the notes as: Lavender absolute, Vanilla, and Musk.

Caron Pour Un Homme is a soliflore, essentially a two note love affair with lots of vanilla and lavender.

Upon first application, you get a blast of sharp, astringent lavender. It is so abrasive and sharp, it pierces your senses, but soon it mellows out and what follows is a smooth and semi-sweet vanilla that stays for the rest of the day or for however long it lasts on your skin.

Caron Pour Un Homme is very delicate and easy to wear. It is uplifting, soothing and very relaxing. Whenever I wear this scent, I am surrounded in a soft veil of fragrance that stays pretty close to the skin.

Although longevity is average with CPH, lasting about 3-4 hours, the scent is not. It is simply, classic elegance perfected. Fresh lavender combined with warm vanilla is perfect any time of year. This scent is light, refreshing, and never gets cloying.

People say this scent smells like “play-doh”, and I do get that aspect briefly, immediately afterwards, for a minute or two, but only if over applied. However, that facet of the fragrance quickly disappears once it dries down. I also get the “play-doh” essense longer if I spray my clothes rather than applying directly to my skin. So my recommendation is to not spray your clothes.

Overall impressions:

Positives: Very economical fragrance to own and is widely available. Freshest smelling lavender. Unisex.

Negatives: Projection, Longevity, and Sillage is average to mediocre. This fragrance projects well for about 30 minutes to an hour then becomes an elusive skin scent. While testing this fragrance, it only lasted about 3 hours, if that, on my skin. I wish it lasted a bit longer, which is kind of disappointing. With that being said, I still stand by my statement when I say this is one of the best smelling lavender scents around.

Rating: 3 stars/ 5 stars

Caron Pour Un Homme is available at various online retailers in various sizes ranging from 1.7 fl. oz to 28 fl oz. 4.2 fl oz testers can be had for less than $28 USD.

About dkchocoman

Just a regular guy that loves fragrances
This entry was posted in Lavender Fragrances and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fragrance Review: Caron Pour Un Homme – Short Lived Lavender

  1. laniersmith says:

    Great review, I have been meaning to try this one out. It is always nice to have the classics on hand.

    • dkchocoman says:

      This is a great scent, but I think its been watered down over the years. People say it used to be much stronger and had more kick to it. I wish I could track down some vintage, but that would be close to impossible. This is classic and you can never go wrong whenever you wear this. Thanks for stopping by Lanier!

    • dkchocoman says:

      Classic fragrances are good to have on hand because they never go out of style.Thanks Lanier for your comments!

  2. Nice post! And I agree it IS one of the best lavender scents around but I’m not so sure that it’s an aromatic fougère. It doesn’t have coumarin in it. Michael Edwards classifies it as a “Floral – rich” and the Société française des parfumeurs classifies it as a “Floral – soliflore – lavender”. But then again, I’m probably the only person on this earth who cares about stuff like that… heheheh. Wonderful blog!

    • dkchocoman says:

      I was comparing the original formulation, which had a lot more “stuff” in it than today’s version. However, I cannot verify this, since I have no access to the L’original, and can only speculate. Relying primarily on what people remember from earlier versions, I think there in some truth in that aspect. You are correct, Caron Pour Un Homme is definately a beautiful lavender soliflore. Thanks so much for stopping by Normand!

  3. Buzzard says:

    Excellent review. I love this one and wear it often. It lasts a long time on me but only projects for a couple hours or so. It wears close to the skin but I like that. I will ever be without this one

    • dkchocoman says:

      I’m glad that you love it. Is Caron Pour Homme your signature scent?

      • Buzzard says:

        Yes it is. I’ be been looking for something like it, from the standpoint of being unique,for years and I bought it blind after reading about on the net. I wear it almost every day it is soo different from the usual department store fragrances.

  4. Are you based in NYC or ever get to the city? If so, go to the Caron boutique and try Impact – that is the AMPED up version of this – a lavender bomb that focuses on the mid and base notes. It has the projection, longevity and silliage that you are after. Its not in wide distribution – only available at the boutiques. I blind bought it .. and its the best Lavender that I have.

    • dkchocoman says:

      Unfortunately Ron, I am not based in NYC. I have heard wonderful things about this amped up version of Caron Pour Homme and I know I would probably love it immensely. But due to its low distribution, the only option is to shop via eBay and get scammed by all the frauds and unscrupulous people and to that I say ” No way Jose”. This does give me an incentive to travel to NYC to grab a bottle or 2 of L’Impact and visit Le Labo and the Bond No 9 flagship store in NoHo.

  5. lucasai says:

    I used to love it but after some time our relationship turned into hate and I got rid of the bottle I had.

    • dkchocoman says:

      It was so bad you had to get rid of it huh? Some scents can do that, and you can no longer tolerate them. Did you ever try to layer CPH with scents that have coumarin, neroli, petitgrain, or strong musk in the base? The lavender, vanilla and musk that’s in Caron Pour Homme layer very well with those notes.

      • lucasai says:

        No, haven’t tried layering then. It was one of my first fragrances years ago so I had no idea that one could layer perfume.

  6. This is my DH’s signature scent and I LOVE it! But I’ve noticed that it does not love everybody. Fortunately, my DH’s skin projects this fragrance as it is intended, in a soft and misty way. I agree, it lacks longevity and sillage, but those are hallmarks of a mostly natural fragrance, so I think that is a positive factor. It makes the initial whiff of application that much more pleasurable to experience. I also like that ad . . .

  7. Pingback: Caron Pour Un Homme de Caron EDT Perfume Review | EauMG

Leave a Reply

