New York Oud by Bond No. 9: Oud That’s Tame, Plush and Irresistible

New York Oud by Bond No. 9

New York Oud by Bond No. 9


New York Oud by Bond No 9 is one of those scents that I have come to love through trial and error. At first I hated it, but then, like an epiphany, the heavens opened and I saw its true wondrous nature. Bond No 9’s scents first came on my radar about 2 years ago via numerous fragrance vlogs on YouTube. People were raving about them and I figured I’d give them a whirl. I purchased my first sample through eBay which came in a lot of 5 (5 different scents) and I was very excited to try them. I waited a couple of weeks, giving the other samples a chance to reveal themselves on my skin. It was then time for New York Oud to make its presence known.

Agarwood

Agarwood


New York Oud opens as a beautiful floral affair with a dominant saffron note, plum in the background and a little bit of orange zest to tame the savage beast. The top notes lasts 1-2 hours, but the true stars of the show, rose and oud, start appearing well before. The rose is light and airy while the oud comes across as soapy. Compared to other oud based scents, this one is very tame and easy to wear. I was pleased to find an oud note that is not camphorous, harsh or medicinal. The middle notes last about 10 hours on my skin. Eventually, the bottom notes come around and reveal themselves. The white honey and musk give this fragrance a slightly animalistic quality without going overboard. The dry down on my skin smells like sweet clean skin which comes from the white honey combining with the remnants of the rose and oud. This can last on your skin for up to 6-10 additional hours, but I have smelled this on my skin up to 24 hours.

As I have previously stated, NY Oud has monstrous longevity, projection and sillage, lasting anywhere between 16-24 hours on the skin. All of Bond No 9’s NY series of scents are all 30% concentration eau de parfum, which gives them the extra tenacity. So spray this one with caution! The season to wear this scent is the fall/winter, since it is very dense and heavy, and is better suited for cooler weather. NY Oud is best reserved for special occasions when you want to make a bold statement, and wearing a signature fragrance such as NY Oud, you most definitely will.

Rating: 4 stars/5 stars

This scent qualifies as FBW (Full Bottle Worthy) and is in my Hall Of Fame

NY Oud comes is two sizes 50 ml and 100 ml and has a price range of $260 -$340. It can be purchased at Bond No 9 boutiques in NYC, Nordstrom’s, Sak’s, and various online perfume retailers.

Sample obtained from my own collection

About dkchocoman

Just a regular guy that loves fragrances
This entry was posted in Oud Fragrances and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New York Oud by Bond No. 9: Oud That’s Tame, Plush and Irresistible

  1. Kafkaesque says:

    Saffron? Oh, boy, now I want to smell this! And 10 hours for the middle notes??!?? *faints* Do scents last a long time on you in general, with this Bond No. 9 being particularly long? BTW, I don’t think I’ve ever read of any oud scent having a soapy note, so that part was very interesting. I definitely will jot this one down to go with my Bond No. 9 Andy Warhol Silver Factory on my Surrender to Chance list.

    On a totally separate note, I’m THRILLED you finally set up your own blog! I think you have a lot to offer in terms of perfume perspectives, particularly as you are very blunt and direct about your thoughts. I also like how clean and open everything looks. Figuring out formats and technical tweaks is a pain in the tush, and can take a huge amount of time, but I think it becomes easier. One suggestion, I would imbed the photos more into the text, so that they’re not quite so “stand alone.” If you click on the individual photo, you should see two icons and the one on the left will let you play around more with the placement, size and text-wrapping aspects of each photo. I hope that helps. And keep up the great job! This was a very persuasive review and an absolutely wonderful start!

    • dkchocoman says:

      That’s a good question, it usually depends on the scent itself and how my skin eats it up as to how long it will last on me. I usually get good to average longevity and projection with all my scents, but NY Oud is another story all together. I believe it has to do with the high concentration of essential oils and whatever else they put in this perfume.They say its 30% [conc.] and I believe it wholeheartedly. It is a monster that lasts and lasts. I’ve had this scent on now for more than 12 hours and its still going strong. I smell the oud, rose, honey ,musk and it is wonderful! Silver Factory is another one of my favorites. I love wearing it in the summer when its 100 degrees outside ( although some consider it a cool weather scent, but I don’t follow the rules). LOL The wood resin and incense in it is great. It actually smells like a burning tree, a very fragrant tree that is. Thanks for the photo tip, I will be sure to play around more with the photos editing next time. Glad you enjoyed my review!

    • Krystallynn says:

      The forum is a brtihger place thanks to your posts. Thanks!

  2. kjanicki says:

    Great review. I had a sample of this. You’ve made me want to go dig it out and try it again. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

